First of all, I must apologize for being away for so long from this blog. Been pretty busy with work….and i’m still busy actually. πŸ™‚ Just taking a break.

So here i am again…throwing this question to all of you who want to start your own business.

Let’s face it. Most people, especially in Asia, want to start their own business. But why? What’s the reason of you, wanting to start your own business? Is it for fame? To build an icon like Microsoft or Google? To pursue your dreams and ambitions? To work for yourselves rather than relying on someone else? Or is it you just want to be rich and become financially independent?

I’ve asked this question to a lot of people…..not just you. Most of the answers I’ve received, well…it’s quite disappointing. Most people gave me answers such as “I just want to be my own boss” or “I want to be rich”. And none of them actually say something like “pursue my dreams/ambitions”.

If you seriously want to start your own business….have you heard of people saying that 9 out of 10 startups will fail in the first 5 years? The 1 will actually survive the first 5 years….but after that, 9 out of 10 surviving companies will struggle and perish. The survival rate is actually 5-10%….and that’s only for the first 10 years…and jst to survive.

If your main objective is to get rich quick or be financially independent, then don’t start your own business. You can do that by using your money wisely – investing in the right place, generating money from money….etc. You don’t need to start your own business to be rich. You can use other people’s business to be rich. And also…even if you start your own business, there’s a very high possibility that you won’t get rich.

For myself, I still insist that i want to start my own business. Not to get rich from it….but more like to pursue my dreams and do what I want AND, be successful with it. πŸ™‚

What bout you? πŸ˜€ Ask yourself….and answer the question honestly. πŸ™‚ Hopefully, you’ll find the answer you seek. Β 

