Many of us have asked this question over and over and over again, including myself. I’m going to tell you one pretty bad news…….. if you do always ask yourself this question, it means you are most probably trapped in the rat race like I do. A person who has no worries about money, will never ask that question……or maybe, the frequency won’t be as high as those caught up in the rat race. 😉

Just a few hours ago, my dad called me up…(for your info, he’s my financial controller…in-charged of paying the loans on my behalf), and informed me I owe him **** amount this month. Thats is actually more than 50% of my monthly salary (the monthly salary before the income tax, pension fund, etc which one must pay every month to the government). And after paying my study loan, mutual fund investment, etc…….i’ll only have RM 400-500 per month to eat. Hmm… my brain is already trying to work out how to get “free meals” from my friends. LOL.

Sometimes, people tend to get trapped in the rat race without knowing it…..they work and work and work, hoping that the next increment will come soon. When it came, they then realized that it is not enough. Their expenses somehow will shoot up also. This is exactly what I am currently experiencing. My expenses used to be quite okay…..and then I changed a job, got a 30-40% pay rise……..and i went on to buy a car (I opted for a slightly more expensive Japanese car due to safety reason). Then I moved into my new condominium….renovation, furnitures, etc…..all these cost $$$. Before I realized…..i’ve become the latest victim of rat race. Working hard, just to pay the bills.

So, how do I intend to step out from this rat race? It’s not easy. Or rather…I’ll say it’s very difficult based on the number of commitments I have – taxes, mortgages, etc. Still, this will not destroy my ambitions. I believe I’ll figure out some ways to step out of this rat race.

Maybe working as a part-timer in Starbucks? LOL. Just kidding. There should be some other ways to do this. Taking a part-time job is not really recommended especially for those in the IT & Consulting line.

Sorry for reading my ramblings. My intention here is to tell you my first hand experience of being a victim in the rat race. I seriously hope that all of you will plan your finance better so that you will not end up being the next rat race victim. If you are already in the rat race…well, all is not lost.

Start asking yourselves…...why are you working so hard yet earning nothing? Why are you repeating the routine of getting more pay just to pay off higher debts?  How are you going to stop this routine? 

One of the simplest methods – start to buy assets and not liabilities….please refer to my previous posts on that. 🙂

Hope it helps.

