It is this time of the year again for my company, where bosses meet subordinates in one of the most feared activity (which is necessary regardless of the efforts needed) in corporate history. Well, maybe not for some companies who have more than 2 reviews per year.

There are different types of performance reviews….. some are two-sided, some one-sided, and some even failed to serve its actual purpose. I’ve seen the situation where a manager and a subordinate discussed thoroughly what are the strengths and weaknesses and how to improve so that the subordinate can perform better in the next review………but end up getting rejected by the top management. The consequence? The top management came out with a “standard” review form for the subordinate. If the review form is not relevant, or the manager is biased, then the top management has every right to reject it. However, there are cases where the score given is fair but the management still rejects it for the sake of “forming a normal graph” or “to ensure the budget for the annual bonus is fair for all“. Whatever the reason, I feel that by doing this, the management defeats the purpose of performance review.

Some of us always think we’re valuable…good..skillful, etc to our company and our bosses. So we have a very high expectation when entering the meeting room to discuss about our performance for the past few months with our boss. The result given, is normally worse than what we expected it to be. Sometimes, I like to call this “annual performance review” as “annual sales carnival” since we always get discounted items. 🙂

I have few colleagues telling me their experiences over the years that performance reviews never end up in a positive manner (it’s good enough if it doesn’t demotivate you). I believe if your direct supervisor is an open-minded person….and of course, an honest and fair person, your performance review still have some “hopes“. But in the end, the final result lies not in your contro…it’s in your supervisor’s control and also the top management’s control.
That’s why the best you can do is to always remember that you need to be honest to yourself. Speak out your mind. This is one of the main objectives of having this performance review. For me, I don’t care if my review turns out the way I wanted it or not (ignoring the otherwise important money factor) . What I care is to deliver my ideas and my opinions across to the “boss“. That’s one of my roles in the company. It’s better to do this then to “bla” everything out after you resigned…..which is usually the case.

The results I obtained from this review is not very positive. I feel it’s a bit unfair but that’s life. I have to move ahead and learn from my mistakes as much as possible. So if your review didn’t turn out well, don’t worry so much…it’s not the end of the world. 🙂 Do better in your next review.

