I don’t have the right to write this post because I’m in fact, a pessimist….and by stating that…I’m showing the pessimist side of me. Just kidding. I’m only a pessimist when it comes to relationship (you know…boy girl relationship). In other stuff, I’m quite an optimistic person. However, I have a few friends who are our typical pessimistic individuals who have very low level of confidence.

Beware though…because having low level of confidence does not help at all (especially females…who tend to be less confident than males…for some reasons which I don’t know).

Having a proper level of confidence is very important in every aspect of our life. If you are in the sales line, you need to show your confident personality when you are trying to “brainwash” the customer into buying your product. If you’re in the consulting line, you need to be confident when presenting or negotiating with your clients…….so that they believe in whatever you’re telling them. And even if you’re a clerk or secretary, you need to be confident enough to know that you can handle the workloads with ease. The list goes on and on…but you get the idea

So what happens if you don’t feel confident in whatever you’re doing? You start to complain….and worrying about things which should not have crossed your mind. “How am I supposed to do this?”“I’m incompetent ! I’m useless !”… rather than “I can do this. I WILL do this”…or “This looks difficult but I should be able to sort it out…maybe I can Google for it”. 

Always remember that our brain can create miracles…or wonders that we are not aware of….yet, it can create havoc or chaos if you allowed it. Be optimistic and create wonders….and not the other way round.

Being optimistic is good but don’t get carried away and become over-confident. I’ve walked across that path a few times before…and I didn’t really like the outcomes. That is why, it is equally important to be at the right level of confidence and stay HUMBLE. Don’t go showing off to everyone just because you know something or you are good at something. Be humble and accept other people’s opinions. We’re all learning …. a never ending process in our life.

So…what’s the point here? Be optimistic and humble? That’s easier to say than to be done. True, it’s very easy to blame ourselves and be a pessimist……..and it’s equally easy to get carried away by our small ‘good fortunes‘ or ‘successes‘.  Try to strike a balance – have the right amount of confidence…and being humble.

I know it’s not easy…but nothing is easy in our life. Just treat it as a challenge. 🙂

 p/s….still recovering from my “lack of sleep” problem. That’s why my points/ideas in the article above …kinda jumbled up.