I didn’t realize how negative I was until I’ve read Anthony Robbins’ book “Awaken The Giant Within“. The book is quite old but it is indeed a very good book.

In this book, Tony talked about how important it is to have a positive mindset. Having negative mindset doesn’t mean it is bad…but thinking negatively all the time is bad.

By thinking positively, you look at alternatives or focus on the solutions and not the problems. You will think about the things or lessons you can gain from a particular problem or mishap. If you think negatively, you will just be wasting your own energy focusing on the wrong thing – the problem. What is the use if you just think and worried about a problem when you can actually focus on the solution?

For example, if your business proposal (which you’ve spent weeks or months on it) got rejected by the board of directors, what would you do? Sulk? Angry? Furious? Well, to be honest, I would feel disappointed but I will try not to be stuck on that feeling for too long. It’s better for me to gather whatever lessons or feedbacks I can get and move on from there. Learn from mistakes and focus on how you can improve the situation the next time you try. Why? So that you can come back stronger.

If you don’t, you will not move forward. You’ll be stuck in that failure and sooner or later, it’ll drain your energy and your life. You will lose all motivation to try again.

How you live your life, will depend on how you see the world…. and what is your focus. The problem or the solution?

This post might not be as helpful as I would’ve hoped. I do recommend Tony’s book for everyone. He provides a much better explanation than me (I’m still learning how to focus on the right things at the right time).

